Control

The Task

Task of this project was to design something with the innovative controller of the Nintendo Wii. But why should a designer show interest in computer games or their devices?

The game industry is one of the biggest in the the entertainment branch. Games like Halo 3 had record sales with over 170 million dollar in the first 24 hours. Nintendo’s Wii is the leading game console and outnumbers its next competitor two to one. These are some of the reasons to take some interest as a designer in a game console.

Concept

We wanted to take use of the special features of the Wii Controller. Next to the mere normal buttons the controller is equipped with a camera and acceleration sensors. This way it is possible to track the users movements and include them into the game. This way of interaction took a mayor role in planning our concept. In addition it should be possible for multiple users to play at the same time.

Wiicked

This more or less abstract concept was realized as an Wii artist studio. On the digital canvas the artist can use the different and sometimes most unusual tools like:

  • brush
  • graffiti-gun
  • paint-hose
  • bugs
  • chainsaw
  • light

Paint-Hose

My task was to code the application of the paint-hose. It was difficult to simulate the random splattering of the paint and drips running down the canvas. But I could archive it by recursive programming and some clever random functions.



An early version of the hose tool

 


Presentation

The presentation took place on a big stage and was well performed except a small malfunction at the beginning. The spectators had the chance to test the game at the end of the show. This way we could get valuable insight concerning the interface and gameplay.

control presentation from Guido G on Vimeo.

Control

Die Aufgabe

Bei diesem Projekt haben wir uns die Frage gestellt was man mit dem innovativem Wii-Controllern machen kann. Aber wieso sollte man sich überhaupt mit Computerspielen oder deren Controller auseinander setzten ?

Die Computerspieleindustrie zählt zu einer der Größten im Unterhaltungsbereich. Spiele wie Halo 3 erzielen Rekordumsätze von 170 Millionen Dollar in den ersten 24 Stunden. Die Wii von Nintendo zählt dabei zu den erfolgreichsten Konsolen und ist die meist gekaufte Konsole zurzeit. Dies waren alles gute Gründe sich mit der Wii auseinander zu setzten.

;

Konzept

Dabei wollten wir die Vorzüge und Besonderheiten des Wii Controller nutzen. Er ist, neben den normalen Tasten eines Controllers, mit einer Kamera und Beschleunigungssensoren ausgestattet. Dies ermöglicht ihm Bewegungen zu erkennen und sofort in das Spiel einzubinden. Zudem sollten es mehrere Personen gleichzeitig spielen können und ein gewisses Element des Zufalls dabei sein.

Wiicked

Dieses sehr abstrakte Konzept wurde dann in einem Wii-Artist-Studio realisiert.

Auf einer Leinwand kann der Spieler die ungewöhnlichen Werkzeuge nutzen wie:

  • Pinsel
  • Graffiti-Gun
  • Farbschlauch
  • Käfer
  • Kettensäge
  • Licht

Meine Aufgabe war, die Programmierung des Farbschlauchs. Die Schwierigkeit hierbei war die realistische Darstellung von Farbe die auf eine Leinwand trifft zu simulieren. Bei zu starken Farbauftrag sollten auch noch “Farb-Nasen” nach unten rinnen. Dies konnte ich dann aber dank rekursiver Programmierung und ausgeklügelter Zufallsrechnung realisieren.


An early version of the hose tool


Präsentation

Die Präsentation, die auf einer großen Bühne statt fand, lief gut ab. Am Schluss der Show hatten Freiwillige die Möglichkeit unser Spiel zu testen. Dadurch gewannen wir wertvolle Erkenntnisse in Bezug auf das Interface.