Factory Black

The game is a result of a bachelor Thesis done in 2013. The digital prototype was made within 2 weeks.

The idea

The game “Alone in the Dark”, which was extensively analyzed in the research proposal “Autopsy of a video game”, is the basis for “Black Factory”. It is not a simple copy of the original, but a smart adaptation to current technologies and expectations of the gamers.

It is a mix of adventure and action – combined with horror and shock elements. It modernizes the classic, revised gameplay elements of the old game and adds new ones. It links the tension of “Slender – the eight pages”, the mystery of “Myst” and a little “Heavy Rain.”

Terror and fear are inflicted in a subtle way. The horror takes place mainly in the imagination of the players then on the screen. To progress in the game solving riddles is more important than fighting. More difficult for the player it is not to lose his mind. Ghosts and struggles with monsters drain on the mental health that will change the players perception.

Story

The player finds himself as a night watchman alone at an abandoned factory. Armed with only a flashlight, he roams the dark and narrow corridors of the big plant. But strange things are happening in the old factory. Keys disappear, surveillance cameras show a little boy and there are traces of blood on the walls. In an adventurous night  the players is not only fighting against ghosts and ghouls but also against the upcoming madness that makes him doubt reality.

Gameplay

Mental health is an integral part of the gameplay. The growing madness is shown through changes in the environment. With growing insanity new areas in the game are available for the player.

Audience

The game is developed with Unity 3D and is planned for Mac and PC. A port on handhelds is possible but not a primary goal. “Black Factory” is designed for players who like independent productions like “Amnesia” and “Slender – the eight pages”.

Download

The latest Versions are available here.

Factory Black

Das Spiel ist das Ergebniss meiner Abschlussarbeit an der KISD 2013. Der digitale Prototyp entstand zu Präsentatation innerhalb 2 Wochen.

Die Idee

Das Spiel „Alone in the Dark“ ,welches im Research Proposal „Autopsie eines Videospiels“ ausgiebig analysiert wurde, bildet die Grundlage für „Factory Black“. Dabei handelt es sich nicht um eine einfache Kopie des Originals, sondern eine mit Bedacht an aktuelle Technologien und Erwartungen der Spieler angepasste Version.

Es ist eine Mischung aus Adventure und Action – gepaart mit Horror und Schockelementen. Es modernisiert den Klassiker, überarbeitet Spielelemente des alten Spiels und fügt neue hinzu. Kombiniert wird die Spannung aus „Slender – the eight pages“, das Verwunderliche aus „Myst“ und ein wenig „Heavy Rain“.

Schrecken und Angst werden auf eine subtile Art und Weise vermittelt. Der Horror spielt sich vornehmlich in der Fantasie der Spieler ab als auf dem Bildschirm. Um weiter zu kommen im Spiel ist das Lösen von Rätseln wichtiger als geschicktes Kämpfen. Schwieriger wird es für den Spieler, nicht den Verstand zu verlieren. Geistererscheinungen und Kämpfe mit Monstern zehren an der geistigen Gesundheit wodurch dessen Wahrnehmung verändert wird.

Story

Der Spieler findet sich allein als Nachtwächter in einer verlassenen Fabrik wieder. Nur mit einer Taschenlampe bewaffnet durchstreift er die dunklen und verwinkelten Gänge der großen Anlage. Es gehen allerdings merkwürdige Dinge vor in der Fabrik. Schlüssel verschwinden, die Überwachungskameras zeigen ab und zu einen kleinen Jungen und es befinden sich Blutspuren an den Wänden. In einer abenteuerlichen Nacht kämpft der Spieler nicht nur gegen Geister und Zombies sondern auch gegen den aufkommenden Wahnsinn, der ihn an der Realität zweifeln lässt.

Gameplay

Die geistige Gesundheit ist elementarer Bestandteil des Gameplay. Der wachsende Irrsinn wird über Veränderungen der Umgebung deutlich. Mit wachsendem Wahnsinn erschließen sich dem Spieler auch neue Bereiche im Spiel.

Publikum

Die geistige Gesundheit ist elementarer Bestandteil des Gameplay. Der wachsende Irrsinn wird über Veränderungen der Umgebung deutlich. Mit wachsendem Wahnsinn erschließen sich dem Spieler auch neue Bereiche im Spiel.

Download

Die aktuelle Version ist erhältlich: hier